Raytheon Receives Two-Year FAA Satellite Contract Extension; Michael Prout Comments

Raytheon Co. has received a $30.1 million contract extension from the Federal Aviation Administration for satellite navigation support services, the company announced Tuesday.

The Waltham, Mass.-based contractor continue to manage the agency’s Wide Area Augmentation System for an additional two years.

The company has served as the prime contractor for the system since it was commissioned in 2003, said Michael Prout, vice president of security and transportation systems for the network centric systems business.

The system provides satellite-based navigation for the continental U.S., Alaska, Canada and Mexico.

The company will provide the services until Sept. 24, 2013.

In January, the Air Force awarded the company a $27.4 million contract to develop a launch and checkout system for its GPS III satellites.

Check Also

Manny Fernandez Board of Directors Jacobs

Jacobs Elects Manny Fernandez to Board of Directors; Steve Demetriou Quoted

Jacobs has elected Manny Fernandez, managing partner at KPMG, to the company’s Board of Directors, Jacobs reported on Thursday. Fernandez will retire from KPMG on Sept. 30th and join the Jacobs’ Board of Directors on Oct. 5th. Fernandez will bring nearly four decades of experience, advising both public and private companies. 

Teena Lavu VP Electrosoft

Teena Lavu Joins Electrosoft as Civilian Programs VP

Teena Lavu, formerly a senior director at NTT Data Services, has been named vice president of civilian programs at Reston, Virginia-based information technology services provider Electrosoft.

Andrew Borene Managing Director Cybereason

Cybereason Managing Director Andrew Borene Joins NDIA Special Ops Exec Board

Andrew Borene, managing director for the U.S. public sector at endpoint security company Cybereason, has been named to the executive board of the National Defense Industrial Association’s special operations and low-intensity conflict division. He will also chair NDIA’s industry outreach committee.