Raytheon’s Networking Waveform Added to DoD Radio Library; Jeff Miller Comments

Raytheon’s next generation mobile ad hoc networking waveform was admitted to the Defense Department’s joint tactical radio system library, the company announced Thursday.

Jeff Miller, director of tactical communications systems, said companies now have the ability to port the company’s waveform into their radios.

This is the first time a waveform not developed under either the JTRS program or a legacy program has been accepted into the library, the company said.

The Waltham, Mass.-based company said the waveform powers the mobile ad hoc interoperability network GATEway and enables live video streams from drones and virtual information transfers.

U.S. forces have used the system for more than two years and the company developed the system with the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency over the last 12 years.

Raytheon recently won a Defense Information Systems Agency contract for engineering services on a global information sharing network.

You may also be interested in...

Jay Lambke President GAI

Government Acquisitions Obtains SBA HUBZone Program Certification; Jay Lambke Quoted

Cincinnati, Ohio-based company Government Acquisitions Inc. has been accredited by the Small Business Administration under a program that seeks to provide economic benefits to government contractors from historically underutilized business zones.

Satellite launch

SpaceX Launches Satellite for Multinational Ocean Observation Effort

SpaceX has sent to space a satellite designed to monitor sea levels across the globe under a U.S.-U.K. partnership. The Sentinel-6 Michael Freilich satellite lifted off from Vandenberg Air Force Base on a mission to collect sea level data, support ship navigation and inform weather forecasts, NASA said Sunday.


KBR Gets $65M Navy Contract Modification for Base Support Services

KBR has received a one-year, $64.8M contract modification to carry out base operating support services at various U.S. Navy installations in Djibouti and Kenya.